Umpires with 3 or less years of experience must attend one of these training sessions from 9am-11:30am Saturday, March 28 or Saturday, April 4 at Nicollet Middles School (400 E 134th Street, Burnsville).
The cost of each session is $10 (or $15 for both). Each session contains the same information. The EBA will reimburse the umpries for the clinic cost. To register, contact Mark Nesvig at 952-261-6540 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Minnesota's New "Concussion Law" - The Minnesota Legislature's new Concussion Law requires on-line training for all coaches and officials and concussion education for all parents and athletes starting this fall. The Minnesota Legislature recently passed a "Concussion Law" which requires any municipality, business, school district or non-profit organization that organizes a youth athletic activity and charges a fee to follow the statutes requirements, including the implementation of concussion training and education and establishing safe return-to-play policies for athletes who sustain a concussion.
The law mandates that all coaches and officials receive concussion training and education and then at three-year intervals thereafter. Those of you who are Minnesota State High School certified will need to do the on-line video training that is currently on the Minnesota State High School League website in the Officials Corner section. For those of you who are not State High School Certified, we recommend that you go the National Federation of State High School website and complete their concussion education training; you can go to (www.nfhslearn.com). This course requires registration but it is FREE!
Both training sessions involve watching a video and then successfully completing a quiz. The training will take less than half an hour and then you can print a certificate of completion. This certificate of completion needs to be shown to the EBA in order to officiate this season.
You must submit a copy of this Concussion Training Certificate of Completion before you will be allowed to officiate for the MYAS this season. PLEASE UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS NOT AN MYAS REQUIREMENT, IT IS A LAW PASSED BY THE MINNESOTA LEGISLATURE.
Code of Conduct Requirement
Any Official that is not MYAS registered is required to sign and return the Code of Conduct Form prior to being paid. Fax to MYAS Baseball Staff at 763-781-1922 or mail it to the MYAS office.
Links to rules: